Jury and Awards


Grand Jury Prize Vicente Pinto Abreu
Awarded to the best film in the International Competition
Value: 3.000 euros
THE LAST SHELTER, Ousmane Samassekou

Honorable Mention
BEATRIX, Lilith Kraxner, Milena Czernovsky

Cinema Falado Award
Awarded to the best film in the Portuguese language from any competitive section, unless otherwise excluded
Value: 1.000 euros
DISTOPIA, Tiago Afonso

Cinema Novo Award by Canal180
Awarded to the best film from the Cinema Novo Competition
Value: 500 euros plus 2.000 euros in kind services from BLIT and 500 euros in kind services from Show Reel

Transmission Award
Awarded to the best film in the Transmission Competition, unless otherwise excluded
Value: 1.000 euros
NUEVE SEVILLAS, Gonzalo García Pelayo, Pedro G. Romero

Honorable Mention
KAREN DALTON: IN MY OWN TIME, Richard Peete, Robert Yapkowtiz

Arché Award by Companhia das Culturas/Fundação Pereira Monteiro
Awarded to the best project presented in the Arché Lab
Artist Residency at the Companhia das Culturas
À PROCURA DA ESTRELA, Carlos Martínez-Peñalver Mas

Teenage Award
Awarded by a group of 12 students from various secondary schools across Porto to the best film in any competition in the programme.
GABI, BETWEEN AGES 8 AND 13, Engeli Broberg


International Competition

Ailton Krenak
Ailton Krenak is a Brazilian writer, journalist, philosopher and indigenous movement leader of Krenak ethnicity.Born in Vale do Rio Doce, Minas Gerais, in 1954, he graduated in journalism and graphic production and since the 1980s he has dedicated himself exclusively to the articulation of the indigenous movement.

João Sousa Cardoso
Cardoso is a dramaturg and director, with a PhD in Social Sciences from the University Paris Descartes (Sorbonne). He has published the books Sequências Completas Narrativas and A Espanha das Espanhas. He is also a professor at Universidade Lusófona. He writes regularly for the Público newspaper.

Luís Urbano
Urbano is a film producer, and has been running the production company O Som e a Fúria with Sandro Aguilar since 2005. There, he has produced films by Manoel de Oliveira, Miguel Gomes, João Nicolau, Ivo Ferreira, Eugène Green, FJ Ossang, Lucrecia Martel, among others. He was one of the founders of the Curtas de Vila do Conde Festival.

Susana Rodrigues
Rodrigues is a programmer, development consultant and film distributor, she currently works with the festivals of Rotterdam, Bildrausch, KINO and Rec Tarragona. She integrates the selection committee and is a consultant for the Hubert Bals fund, Cinemart and the Doha Film Institute.

Cinema Falado Competition

Boris Nelepo
Film critic and programmer, Nelepo has curated retrospectives on directors such as Bela Tarr, Seijun Suzuki, Philippe Garrel, Vera Chytilová or Zelimir Zilnik. He collaborates with the magazines Cahiers du Cinéma, Trafic, Cinema Scope, MUBI, De Filmkrant, Lumière and co-founded Kinote.

Constança Carvalho Homem
Homem divides her time between translation, dramaturgy and her own creative practice. She is a programmer for the Queer Lisboa and Queer Porto festivals. She currently writes the column "The board, the gesture", for the magazine Forma de Vida, and is a member of the international network performance group Utterings.

Justin Jaeckle
Jaeckle is a curator, critic and editor, working across criticism, production and distribution of cinema and contemporary art. He is a programmer for Doclisboa International Film Festival, and curates the ‘‘Architecture on Film’’ season on behalf of The Architecture Foundation and Barbican Centre, London.

Cinema Novo Competition

Joana Seguro
Seguro is an independent curator and producer, working across music, art and technology, with a growing interest and a strong reputation for connecting disparate fields through different art forms and disciplines. She produces exhibitions, curates international festivals, manages artists and conducts tours.

Raquel Ribeiro
Ribeiro is a journalist, writer and professor of Portuguese Studies at the University of Edinburgh, Scotland. She is a regular contributor to the Público newspaper, where she writes reviews and reports on literature and culture. She published the novel Este Samba No Escuro (2013, Tinta-da-China).

Júlio Dolbeth
Dolbeth is an artist and illustrator, and Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Fine Arts of the University of Porto (FBAUP), from which he has a PhD in Art and Design, with a specialisation in Illustration. Between 2008 and 2015, he was the co-founder and curator of the gallery Dama Aflita, in Porto.

Transmission Competition

Ángel Sánchez
Sánchez is the co-director and co-founder with Sara Garcia-Villanueva of the Galician documentary film festival PlayDoc and its production manager.

Georgia Taglietti
Taglietti is the director of communication for the Sónar Festival, where she has worked since 1995. She is also a board member of SheSaidSo, an international network of women working in the music industry, and is responsible for its Barcelona branch, where she lives and works.

Rui Ferreira
Ferreira is the manager of Lux Records, and has produced records and been the manager of bands such as Belle Chase Hotel, Wraygunn, The Legendary Tigerman, Sean Riley And The Slowriders, D3O, Tiguana Bibles and Mancines. In February 2017, he founded the record shop Lucky Lux and in the same year launched the Lux Interior Festival.